I’m Adopted

I was born in Russia, and that’s pretty fetch. Most people are surprised by that fact because, well, I live in Texas. When I tell people that I was born roughly 6,000 miles away, I get a lot of questions. This week’s post is about the many questions I get about the place I was born and how I got to where I am today.

Unarguably, the question I get asked the most when people find out that I was born in Russia is, “do you speak Russian?” Sorry to disappoint, but, no I have never been able to speak Russian.  Besides the very occasional “Спасибо” (Thank you) and “До свидания” (Goodbye) that is thrown around at my house, we are an English speaking family. I grew up in Austin, and honestly, there isn’t a great need for the knowledge of the Russian language here in the Lone Star State.

Another question is: “Do you want to go back to Russia?” Yes. In time, I would love to tour St. Basil’s Cathedral, walk around Red Square, and see the Kremlin. I was born in Kaluga, Russia, a town located a little under three hours south of Moscow, Russia’s capital. Having the opportunity to visit my birthplace and even visit the orphanage that I lived in would be a surreal experience that I would never forget. That being said, no I do not want to go anytime soon.

One question that many people probably wonder but only a few have asked is, “Have you ever wanted to meet your biological parents?” My answer no. This question is one that I think people are most surprised by my answer. My ‘real’ parents are named Mike and Kim Moushon. On the 21st of April, 1999, they became my legal guardians and I wouldn’t change that for the world. My biological mother made the decision to put me in an orphanage with the hope that I would be given a better chance for success than she could provide. I can confidently say that I have been extremely blessed with the path God has taken me and the opportunities he has given me over the years. I have no desire to meet my biological parents and that may sound harsh but they’re not the ones who raised me. I will always be thankful for everything my parents have done for me and I will never take that for granted.

I’ll finish with some other facts and comments about my story. I was adopted when I was one year old, and I’ve always known. My parents never hid my adoption from me and I believe that that is the way it should always be in situations like mine. Lastly, I have never felt like I didn’t belong in my family. Although my parents, brother, and extended family may not be blood-related to me, the bond I have with my family is something I would compare to how a blood relationship would be.

I hope you learned a little bit more about me and my story, and maybe even took something away from this post. Don’t forget to check out Amelia and Lacey’s posts from Monday and Tuesday, and look forward to Abby’s post tomorrow and Katy’s on Friday!

Until next week,

Caleb Moushon

Photo: http://www.zastavki.com/eng/World/Russia/wallpaper-48355.htm

9 thoughts on “I’m Adopted

  1. I recently adopted two little ones and your story gives me great hope. I work with your mom and you and her are truly amazing people. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This post makes me so proud to have been able to meet you and your wonderful parents when I had the shear pleasure of working with your family after you arrived in Austin from Russia. What a precious gift I was given. Caleb, you and your brother are so loved and treasured.

    My niece was also adopted from the same Baby House in Kaluga. The doctor and caregivers loved y’all dearly and most cried tears of happiness as you left with forever parents.

    Continue to write because you have a gift that deserves sharing.

    Go Red Raiders!
    Gay Kelso

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

