Friends.

Friends. 

Some friendships develop over time, some occur simply because you can’t avoid them, some are instant, and some happen slowly, then all at once.

I was going to make a comparison between a developing friendship and falling in love using a quote from John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars. It says, “I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once.” However, after thinking about it for a little longer, I realized that it was less a comparison and more a parallel. At least for me, some of my best friendships have developed in that very way. I’ve met someone new or started hanging out with someone a little more than I had before, and over time moved from “oh yeah I know them” to “yeah they’re my friend!” This transition can take years or it can take a week, either way, you don’t really realize what is happening with your friendship until one day you are sitting on their bed late at night talking about life and it hits you. You realize that you would do anything for the person you are sitting across from, and they would do the same for you. They tell you their secrets and you confide in them your deepest struggles. Seeing them becomes a consistent and routine part of your week and you realize it doesn’t matter how long you’ve known this person, 15 years, 8 years, 2 years, 8 months, 2 months or 5 weeks; the time is just a number but the relationship you’ve built is something so much more than days and hours and minutes that time constrains you to. You realize how crazy it is that God put you both at a small private school in Round Rock, or on the same street corner in San Francisco, or at a local coffee shop, or a party in Lubbock at exactly the right time. Out of the 7.5 billion people in the world, God placed you two, or in some cases, you four, together and knew that you would be exactly what each other needed.

To my friends, to the old and new, to the ones I saw last Friday and to the ones I haven’t seen in much too long, know that I love you and I do not know what I would do without you. Thanks for being there, y’all are pretty fetch.

See you next week,

Caleb Moushon

3 thoughts on “Friends.

Leave a Reply

