Productivity.

Something that I’ve recently realized is that I am not going to be able to accomplish any of my goals if I’m not being productive and proactive with my time. I know, go figure, it took me this long to realize? Think about that for a second though, what you do with your time determines how successful you are going to be. I know, my mind is blown too.I had this realization while I was sitting on my bed, scrolling through Instagram for the 50th time the other night. I had a ton of homework to do and my room was a mess but I was just sitting there being the least productive I could be and dreading my responsibilities. That’s when it hit me. Why do I keep complaining about all of my chores, assignments, and obligations if I continue to make the choice of not getting off my bed and completing some of my tasks? At which point, mind you it is 1:30 am, I got up, cleaned my room, washed my dishes, cleared my desk, and organized my homework for the next day. I felt so relieved after I had done all this and energized with a new sense of determination and accomplishment.

In Proverbs 13:4, it states that “the soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.”

Now, what exactly does this mean for us today? Yeah, we are all discouraged sometimes, but we cannot let that attitude of slothfulness control us. The Biblical idiom, “you reap what you sow,” comes to mind as I am writing this and I think it is something that many times we, especially college students, forget.

I find myself wondering why I got a B instead of an A on a test, or why I’m so tired and unmotivated while I sit at my desk around 5 almost empty coffee cups from the past couple of days that I have yet to wash. I need to be intentional with my time and organize my day to be the most productive possible. I would love to just hang out and watch Netflix the entire day, but realistically, I must ask myself if that would really be beneficial to achieving my goals.

Today, for example, I have had so much going on and so much homework for this week. The balancing act I’ve been doing the past 3 months has seemed to catch up with me and I am trying to do, well, everything. If you know me at all, you know that this is nothing new. I’m probably the king of overcommitment, but you know how I manage everything and still come out on top? (most of the time, let’s be real we all take Ls sometimes) Prayer is a top priority. There is no way you will succeed in anything if you are not heading down the path God has prepared for you. Accepting that some things will happen and some things just won’t is necessary to remain positive when you feel stressed or overworked. The other main aspect in my walk toward success is prioritization and time management. You must realize what is most important and accomplish that first. Doing the easy tasks first will not only make you less productive during the hard tasks but it will also give you more opportunity for distraction.

If you haven’t taken anything from this post, please remember these two things:

  1. Your day is what you make of it.
  2. Everyone is sitting around waiting for success to come to them, why don’t you get up and go get it for yourself.

I’m sure I sound like a broken record by now, but I really do hope you enjoyed this week’s post and maybe even learned something!

Thank you so much for the support you all have given me and the other authors of The Buzz,

If you missed my post last week click here and be on the lookout for more posts throughout the week!

See you next Wednesday!

x Caleb Moushon

One thought on “Productivity.

Leave a comment