19 Things I’ve Learned Before 19

In 4 days I turn 19, and theses are a couple things I’ve learned before my last year as a teenager begins.

  1. If you don’t try your best, you shouldn’t expect to be the best
    1. It’s pretty basic but some people still don’t get it. You reap what you sow.
  2. You can get what you want if you work hard enough for it.
    1. Most of the time, if you don’t quit and you try hard enough you can accomplish almost anything.
  3. Family isn’t defined by blood
    1. My whole life is an example of this, my parents, grandparents, brother, and best friends make up my family and I am biologically related to none of them. These people pick me up when I fall and keep me level headed when life is great, I don’t know what I would do without any of them.
  4. Coffee is so good
    1. Honestly by now if you don’t know that I love coffee and drink roughly 2-3 cups a day (on the low end…), do you even know me?
  5. A relaxed morning is one of the best ways to start your day
    1. There is just something about a lazy morning with a cup of coffee.
  6. Having rituals and routines will help make your life run smoother
    1. Having a rhythm in the morning will help you feel more productive and allow you to start on the more pressing matters of the day earlier. You won’t feel stressed that you haven’t done one thing or another, or you forgot to do that other thing, everything will be done and you can continue on with your day.
  7. It is more important to do a few things well than many things poorly
    1. It is better to be known as the person who is amazing at one or a couple things than the person who is alright at many things. Typically the many things tend to be pretty mundane, so why wouldn’t you want to stand out from the crowd.
  8. If you organize what you can, you will have more time for what you can’t.
    1. This goes along with the routines, planning my day and keeping a tidy living space makes me exponentially more productive throughout the day.
  9. You should never apologize for loving something
    1. Not everyone will share your passions and that’s really cool. We are all so unique and instead of tearing each other down for liking something we should appreciate our differences.
  10. Sometimes the best thing you can do is not think, not wonder, not imagine, not obsess. Just breathe, and have faith that everything will work out for the best.
    1. Shout out to my mom for sharing this quote at the beginning of last semester. It’s helped me a lot during some stressful times.
  11. Dressing well isn’t hard if you know what you’re doing
    1. I’ve been told I have a pretty good sense of style, and my advice to you is to find clothes that look good on you that you are comfortable in. Shop at trendy retailers to find inspiration and to keep up with what is “in” but at the same time make it your own. People don’t compliment you when you look the same as 40 other people in the room, be you. Also, Pinterest is great if you need outfit inspiration, there’s no same in trying to look better.
  12. People will disagree with you.
    1. Move on, there are more important things to worry about.
  13. Facing your problems immediately may hurt at the moment, but it will hurt less than waiting to face them later.
    1. Whether they’re personal issues or a problem you have with a friend, “holding a grudge is like drinking poison and expecting the other person to die.”
  14. FOMO is real and it’s hard to deal with.
    1. I want to do everything and more, there are just not enough hours in a day. Decide what is important to you and prioritize your life around those things.
  15. Sometimes you will lose.
    1. I don’t really have a lot of advice on this one, to be honest. I don’t really have a lot of experience not getting what I want so personally, its pretty difficult to accept defeat. I’ve realized that its just a part of life, and more important than whether you got what you tried so hard for is how you’ve learned from the experience.
  16. Calling your friends out sucks, but it’s best for both of you.
    1. Don’t wait to tell someone you’re close to that you think they need to do something different. Proverbs 27:17 “As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” This “sharpening” isn’t going to be painless but it will make you both better people in the long run.
  17. Always take an opportunity to try something new
    1. Trying new things are great, really, 10/10 recommend.
  18. You shouldn’t let fear rule your life
    1. If you live in constant fear of change you won’t accomplish anything at all.
  19. Dream big.
    1. Don’t let people with “reasonable” expectations tell you what you can and can’t do. “Normal” people never changed the world. It is always those who want more, and aren’t content with mediocrity that achieve their dreams and leave an impact on the world.

 

Hope you enjoyed my reflection on the past 19 years of my life. Here’s to 19!

-Caleb Moushon

Leave a Reply

