A ‘Thank You Note’ to my Freshman Year at College

It seems like yesterday I was walking across that stage, accepting my diploma and taking that ceremonial first step toward the rest of my life. Wasn’t it just last month when I left my family and began my higher education, receiving so much freedom and so much responsibility all in that one weekend? It feels like last week I began this past semester, head first into harder classes, joining a fraternity (Rush BYX), establishing new relationships and making new memories with old friends.

I’ve grown so much in the past year and I can’t imagine what my life would be like if anything had happened differently. I give all the glory to God for putting me in the right places at the right times. He taught me lessons I tried hard to not learn, opened and closed doors I didn’t know existed, and given me countless things to be thankful for.

So, Freshman Year,

These are a few things I’m thankful for that you’ve helped me in realizing how much of a gift they each are.

I’m thankful for my parents and for the sacrifices they make so that I can continue my education.

I’m thankful for my grandparents and extended family, for their prayers and support as I am on this journey of “growing up.”

I’m thankful for the Hive. Thankful for a “home away from my ‘home away from home.’”

I’m thankful for my brothers. Not only my little brother Caden, but also for my 20 pledge brothers, and the roughly 150 brothers I gained this past semester. Thankful for a group of young men that can not only help me grow in my faith but also be there to laugh with and support me when times are good, bad, weird, and stupid.

I’m thankful for all of the other friends I’ve made and the friendships that have grown this year. Whether you have made a big or small impact on my semester, you have made an impact nonetheless.

I’m thankful for Lubbock. Although it may not seem like it, I am so thankful for The Lubb and the many things it has given me, opportunity, friendship, independence, and growth.

 

My next few years here at Texas Tech are full of adventure and hope. I cannot wait for all of the memories I will make next year and the years that follow. The future is bright, my friends, and I can’t wait to experience it with you all.

x Caleb Moushon

 

Photo: http://mtwashingtonautoroad.com/events/sunrise-drives

One thought on “A ‘Thank You Note’ to my Freshman Year at College

Leave a Reply

