Trust Him.

 

“Everything happens for a reason. Nothing occurs by chance, it’s all part of God’s divine plan. Learn to trust it and go where He leads you.”

 

Trusting in the Lord’s plan is personally one of the worst things I struggle with. Don’t get me wrong, I 100% believe that the Lord has a perfect plan for every single person on this earth. However, trusting that His plan is perfect for me is something I sometimes have trouble fathoming. The Lord is an almighty God who knows everyone’s future because He has spoken it to be, but when it comes to me, I sometimes doubt that His plan is what’s best for me. Why? Because I struggle with control. I’ve always been a bit of a control freak, especially when it comes to the future. Most of this is me putting this pressure on myself to be successful in life, but part of it also comes from the societal view of what “success” means. To most, success is determined by the paycheck you make and to others it means having their dream job. These are pressures that are constantly put on us today, and it’s honestly exhausting. When it comes to my future and determining how I will succeed in life, I sometimes doubt that I am capable of being successful. My life plan, as of right now, is to complete my BS in Hospitality Management and then pursue my Juris Doctorate. Completing these will assist me in one day becoming a CEO of a resort or resort chain. However, that is MY plan for my life. What’s hard to realize is that sometimes we go through life pursuing a plan that we have constructed for ourselves. We want to be what we want to be, and we want to get there the way we want to. This is probably the biggest mistake we can make. Sometimes the Lord is going to close doors that need to be closed no matter how much we want them to stay open. Sometimes the Lord is going to put us in a situation where something you want to happen will happen in another time frame or in a different way. It’s so easy to see these road blocks as simply that, road blocks. However, the Lord is actually using these to help guide us to live the life he has set out for us. While it is hard to see these roadblocks and opportunities to shape us and guide us, we need to constantly remember that the Lord put them there for a reason. He knows what He’s doing, even when we don’t know. How cool is it that while we walk through life trying to figure out what to do, that he already knows what is going to happen? God already knows what He has in store for us, we just have to pray and wait and find out. I know, waiting and being patient is way easier said than done, but why not trust our Almighty God? Wanting to know and control everything is burdening, leave it up to God knowing He is always going to take care of His children. The day we let go and let God take control of things is the day we show Him how much we trust Him. The more we trust Him, the more He is going to trust us with. So, don’t stress over having to decide what you’re doing with your life or the little things, trust that God has already take care of it and will not lead you astray.

 

“For I know the plans I have for you declares the Lord. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.” –Jeremiah 29:11

Leave a comment